Religion Newswriters Announce 2014 Contest Finalists

Columbia, Mo. — Religion Newswriters Association today released the list of finalists in its 17 contests. The finalists are listed below by medium rather than contest category: Books, Broadcast, Multiple Media, Print. Winners will be notified by June 10 and made public at the RNA Annual Banquet Sept. 20, 2014, in suburban Atlanta.
The announcement is also available here…

PRINT Sarah Pulliam Bailey, Religion News Service Adelle M. Banks, Religion News Service TK Barger, The Blade Christa Case Bryant, Christian Science Monitor Christianity Today Bernard T. Davidow, The Hartford Courant Elizabeth Dias, TIME Steve Duin, The Oregonian Michelle Boorstein, The Washington Post David Gibson, Religion News Service Catherine Godbey, The Decatur Daily Laurie Goodstein, The New York Times Heidi Hall, The Tennessean Kevin Hardy, Chattanooga Times Free Press Betsy Hiel, Pittsburgh Tribune-Review Carla Hinton, The Oklahoman Kyle D. Huckins, for work at Marion Chronicle-Tribune Annysa Johnson, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Kathryn Joyce, The American Prospect Jaweed Kaleem, The Huffington Post Sala Levin, Moment Magazine Lauren Markoe, Religion News Service Bret Mavrich, for work at Christianity Today Holly Meyer, Post-Crescent Media Matthew Miller, Lansing State Journal Moment Magazine Mark Mueller, The Star-Ledger Manya Brachear Pashman, Chicago Tribune Jennifer Preyss, Victoria Advocate Ann Rodgers, for work at Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Brian Roewe, National Catholic Reporter Rev. Alexander M. Santora, The Jersey Journal Jeff Sheler, The Virginian-Pilot Bill Sherman, Tulsa World Peter Smith, for work at The Courier-Journal & Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Alessandro Speciale, Bloomberg News Sojourners Christie Storm, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette Tikkun Magazine TIME Tim Townsend, for work at St. Louis Post-Dispatch Cori Urban, The Republican JoAnne Viviano, The Columbus Dispatch David Waters, The Commercial Appeal Marshall Weiss, The Dayton Jewish Observer Naomi Zeveloff, Jewish Daily Foward Rachel Zoll, The Associated Press