The Common Good

Evangelical Leaders Launch "I Was A Stranger," Immigration Prayer Challenge and Video

Date: January 10, 2013

 

For Planning Purposes Only                                         CONTACT: Carrie Adams, Sojourners

January 10,2013                                                         cadams@sojo.net, 202-745-4654

                                                                                    Dan Gordon, National Immigration Forum

                                                                                    dgordon@immigrationforum.org, 202-383-5996

 

**Press Conference**

Evangelical Leaders Launch “I was a Stranger,” Immigration Prayer Challenge and Video

National Leaders, Local Pastors Ask Lawmakers to Consider Immigration through Biblical Lens

WASHINGTON, D.C. — On Monday, Jan. 14, during a telephonic press conference, the Evangelical Immigration Table, a group of influential evangelicals who support immigration reform, will reach out to political leaders and more than 100,000 churches as it launches the “I Was a Stranger” immigration prayer challenge.

Leaders will also announce the launch of a promotional video featuring prominent evangelical leaders reading from the 25th chapter of Matthew, where the challenge gets its name. This coordinated effort of churches and Christian ministries will summon legislators to allow biblical teachings to inform their views as the new Congress and Administration consider reforms to our nation’s immigration laws. On the call, evangelical leaders will provide insight into the growing evangelical support for immigration reform, planned grassroots efforts and national priorities for the upcoming legislative debate.

The challenge will invite individual evangelical Christians, church congregations, and legislators to read 40 verses of Scripture that relate to immigration and to pray that these passages will evoke the political will to create a just immigration system that better reflects Christian values.

 

WHAT:Press call announcing the launch of the “I Was a Stranger” Challenge

WHEN:Monday, January 14, 12 p.m. EST/11 a.m. CST/10 a.m. MST/9 a.m. PST

WHO: Stephan Bauman, President and CEO, World Relief

Taylor Bell, Student, Samford University (Alabama)

Noel Castellanos, CEO, Christian Community Development Association

Dave Gibbons, Pastor, Newsong Church (California)

Dr. Joel Hunter, Senior Pastor, Northland Church (Florida)

Dr. Jo Anne Lyon, General Superintendent, The Wesleyan Church

HOW: DIAL: 1-866-952-1907; CONFERENCE ID: STRANGER

 

For questions and for media RSVP for this event, please e-mail dgordon@immigrationforum.org.  

Follow the challenge on Twitter at #IWasAStranger.

www.EvangelicalImmigrationTable.com

###